Buckinghamshire County Ladies Golf Association

Championship Plate

From 1939 to 1958, the County Championships comprised the Championship itself and the Championship Plate. The latter was competed for by Ladies of Handicaps 10-18, termed the 'Juniors' . In 1939 the trophy, named the 'County Cup' was presented by Mrs Nancye Gold herself a distinguished County Captain 1927-28 & 1932 and County Champion - 1928, 31, 32, 34, 36, 37, 47, 50 and 51. The trophy has been used since 1967 as the Winter Foursomes later Greensomes KO Trophy.

1939 Miss J Horne Mrs Florence Duncan (Beaconsfield) Burnham Beeches
1940 - 1946 Competition not held

1947 Mrs Midge Haig (Denham) Mrs Patience Whitworth-Jones (Beaconsfield) Denham
1948 Mrs Palmer (Beaconsfield) Mrs Ellis (Flackwell Heath) Beaconsfield
1949 Mrs Allan James (Flackwell Heath) Mrs Joyce Braddon (Beaconsfield) Stoke Poges
1950 Mrs Patience Whitworth-Jones (Beaconsfield) Mrs Higgins Denham
1951 Mrs J Gardner (Harewood Downs) Mrs Winifred Agnew (Burnham Beeches) Beaconsfield
1952 Mrs J Ellis (Flackwell Heath) Mrs MacKenzie Burnham Beeches
1953 Mrs Betty Stothert (Denham)
Stoke Poges
1954 Mrs Freida Trumper (Denham)

1955 Mrs Elizabeth MacKenzie Crooks (Ellesborough)

1956 Mrs Buchanan

1957 Lady Masson

1958 Mrs R A K Weiner

Cup used for County Cup - originally called 'the Peate'.

year winner runner-up played at
1959 Mrs Dunne

1960 Mrs Elizabeth MacKenzie Crooks (Ellesborough)

1961 Mrs H B S Benson

1962 Miss M Muir

1963 Mrs Dorothy Young (Gerrards Cross)

1964 Mrs Diana M Purvis (Burnham Beeches)

1965 Mrs Gray

1966 Mrs Grace Priday (Buckingham)

County Cup Discontinued 1967.

Created by intelligentgolf version 10.1.2.