Home Fixtures Junior Fixtures Competition Winners Contact Us Junior Contacts Site Map

Winter Foursomes Final 2008-2009

Gerrards Cross Golf Club

Monday 23rd March 2009

             The Winners of the Winter Foursomes
                        The Winners:  Rona Barford & Maura Spencer (Lambourne)

The final was played on a cold, windy day at Gerrards Cross Golf Club with excellent golf between the holders, Maura Spencer and Rona Barford (Lambourne), and Carola Babcock and Kirsten Hojgaard (Harleyford).

         Winter 4sms Finalists
                   The 2008-2009 Winter Foursomes Finalists    

Carola and Kirsten were three up after 5 holes having given shots at the 2nd and 4th. The sixth was halved and then Maura and Rona won the 7th getting a shot, with Carola and Kirsten then winning the 8th. Maura and Rona won the 9th again receiving a shot and after 9 holes Carola and Kirsten were 2 up.

Maura and Rona then fought back winning the next five holes. The fifteenth and sixteenth holes were halved, which gave Maura and Rona the match, 3 and 2. They are the only pair to retain the trophy since the start of the competition in 1967-68.

           Winter 4sms Runnners-Up
                         The Runners-Up:- Carola Babcock & Kirsten Hojgaard (Harleyford)
Thanks go to the match referee, Eleanor Addio from Richings Park.

Pamela Seller
Joint Competitions' Secretary